Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

Royally Screwed (Royally #1)
by Emma Chase (Goodreads, Twitter, Website)
Published by EverAfter Romance on October 18th, 2016
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Humor
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Book Depository
ADD TO GOODREADS


Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you.

Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn't bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.

Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants.

Dating a prince isn't what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.

There's a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they've traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven't chopped anyone's head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner.

But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.

Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King... or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.

I'M BACK FROM THE BLOGGING DEAD, Y'ALL! Figuratively. Hah! I'm so glad I finally got back my mojo to write reviews again and I'm really hoping this continues especially with all these awesome upcoming releases!

Emma Chase is turning into one of my favorite NA authors even though I’ve only read a few of her books. So far, Tangled is still her best yet. That book definitely set the bar real high, but Royally Screwed almost reached the top… Keyword: almost.

Emma Chase brings us a touching, swoon worthy and hilarious fairytale romance in Royally Screwed. Think modern day Cinderella. We’ve got Prince Nicholas Pembrook taking an interest in ordinary waitress Olivia Hammond who works nine to five, selling pies in her family café. A little push and pull, witty banter and sexual tension, then bam. Hot. Steamy. Sex. And weeks of pure bliss. But there’s a catch—Prince Nicholas needs to marry a fellow blue blood after six months then produce an heir. How’s that going to work for our Prince Charming and Cinderella?

The characters, although a little over the top, are realistic and captivating. Royally Screwed is written in Nicholas and Olivia’s interchanging POVs, but I definitely loved reading from Nicholas’ POV more. Chase writes the best male POV chapters. She definitely has the conceited-asshole-but-has-a-mushy-heart hero voice on point. Despite being a prince, Nicholas is absolutely brash, arrogant and a dirty talking sex-on-a-stick hero with a British accent, especially when it comes to Olivia. He’s sweet and charming, but he’s got his crass moments. I love how relatable Olivia’s personality is. She’s sassy, kind, down to earth and absolutely independent.

The romance in Royally Screwed is straight up swoony, steamy, sexy with a little bit of angst—everything I expect in an Emma Chase novel! I enjoyed Nicholas and Olivia as their own characters but together, these two are just explosive and off the charts hot!

Let’s not forget the star of this series’ second installment, Royally Matched. We already get to know a lot about Prince Henry, the younger royal with the party boy lifestyle, but I’m certain there’s more to him than that. He’s a real hoot too, so I’m excited to read his story! The minor characters are also hilarious to read. I enjoyed Nicholas’ bodyguards and Olivia’s sister, Ellie. I’m so sure there’s going to be a book about her soon!

All in all, Royally Screwed is a hilarious and swoon-worthy read. But while I enjoyed Prince Nicholas, Drew from Tangled still takes the cake. It’s a fast-paced read and should you be going through a book slump, this book will definitely pull you back in. Recommended for fans of Lauren Blakely, Alice Clayton, and Penny Reid.